Thursday, April 23, 2009

Seafood Hall of Fame honorees announced

United Fishermen of Alaska unveiled its inaugural Alaska Seafood Industry Hall of Fame list at a gala dinner tonight in Kodiak (Deckboss, April 16).

And now, without further ado, here are the 20 big names:

Bob Alverson
U.S. Sen. Bob Bartlett
Bob Blake
The Brindle family
Chuck Bundrant
Al Burch
Phil Daniel
Oscar Dyson
State Sen. Dick Eliason
Gov. Ernest Gruening
Gov. Jay Hammond
Gordon Jensen
Knute Johnson
Armin F. Koernig
Jerry McCune
State Rep. Drew Scalzi
U.S. Sen. Ted Stevens
Clem Tillion
Tom Thompson
Bob Thorstenson Sr.

I'll have more tomorrow when UFA issues its formal press release.


Anonymous said...

Magnuson Fishery Conservation and Management Act of 1976?

Exactly where "IS" reality at the UFA?

Anonymous said...

They missed one... Dave Woodruff

Salty said...

What a great idea. Thanks to UFA for recognizing a lot of great contributors. A lot of great Alaska fishermen, scientists, and managers are not on this list. I am sure there will have to be a process for induction every year.

Anonymous said...

Armin Koernig was a hero to be sure.

My vote would go to Ross Mullins. He fought the pipeline way back in the early days, and then captured those Exxon b*stards on film when they came to Cordova and lied in 89'. He was a fighter...